Our Current Team

Deanna Reder (Cree-Métis)

Associate Professor, Simon Fraser University
Depts. of English & Indigenous Studies


Deanna Reder is one of the nine founding members of the Indigenous Literary Studies Association (ILSA).  Its governing code, co-written by the founders in 2013, underlines much of the work that The People and the Text sets to accomplish.

Reder is currently co-chair with Sophie McCall (SFU) and Marie-Eve Bradette (Laval) of the Indigenous Voices Awards. She is one of the founding members of the Indigenous Editors Association (https://www.indigenouseditorsassociation.com/).

Alix Shield, PhD

Dept. of Indigenous Studies, SFU


Alix is a settler scholar, completed her PhD in the Dept. of English at SFU in 2020, and currently is a Continuing Lecturer in the Department of Indigenous Studies. Her research uses contemporary digital humanities methods to analyze collaboratively-authored twentieth- and twenty-first-century Indigenous literatures in Canada. Alix has digitized many of the E. Pauline Johnson archival documents in our collection, and is also responsible for the development and maintenance of our project's Drupal multisite. Her edited edition, Legends of the Capilano, was released in April 2023.

Margery Fee

Professor Emerita, UBC
Dept. of English


Margery Fee, PhD, FRSC, is Professor Emerita of English at the Univerity of British Columbia. Her publications include Literary Land Claims: "The Indian Land Question" from Pontiac's War to Attawapiskat (2015),  Tekahionwake: E. Pauline Johnson's Writings on Native North America  (2016, co-edited with Dory Nason), Polar Bear (2019) and an edited collection of essays by BC historian, Jean Barman, On the Cusp of Contact: Gender, Space, and Race in the Colonization of British Columbia (2020). She is currently working on a book derived from lectures given as the Brenda and David McLean Chair in Canadian Studies about how Indigenous thinkers have situated and used writing and how mainstream language ideologies have hampered Indigenous writers' publication and reception.

Current TPatT Team: Margery Fee, Deanna Reder, Alix Shield
TPatT Team 2022: Maisaloon Al-Ashkar, Treena Chambers, Deanna Reder, Alix Shield, Margery Fee, Madeleine Reddon, June Scudeler, Sandie Dieliessen, Sophie McCall